Nominated and honored at the CFDA Fashion Awards 2022 – WWD

Nominated and honored at the CFDA Fashion Awards 2022 – WWD

The Council of Fashion Designers of America has revealed the nominees and honorees for the 2022 CFDA Fashion Awards in partnership with Amazon Fashion.

The event will take place on November 7 at Cipriani South Street at Casa Cipriani in Manhattan.

Competing for the American Womenswear Designer of the Year are Catherine Holstein for Khaite, Christopher John Rogers (the 2021 winner), Gabriela Hearst, LaQuan Smith and Peter Do.

Vying for the American Menswear Designer of the Year are Emily Bode Aujla for Bode (the 2021 winner), Jerry Lorenzo for Fear of God, Mike Amiri for Amiri, Thom Browne for Thom Browne New York and Willy Chavarria.

The nominees for the American Accessory Designer of the Year are: Aurora James for Brother Vellies, Brandon Blackwood, Raul Lopez for Luar, Stuart Vevers for Coach and Telfar Clemens for Telfar (the 2021 winner).

American Emerging Designer of the Year nominees are Bach Mai, Carly Mark for Puppets and Puppets, Colm Dellane for KidSuper, Elena Velez and Lauren Harwell Godfrey for Harwell Godfrey.

The Board of Trustees’ Award will be posthumously awarded to Virgil Abloh to honor the late designer’s contribution to global fashion. Abloh, the late art director of Louis Vuitton’s menswear collection and chief executive of Off-White, passed away on November 21, 2021.

Lenny Kravitz, songwriter, record producer and actor, will receive the CFDA’s Fashion Icon 2022 award.

The Positive Social Influence Award will go to The House of Slay’s Slaysians starring Prabal Gurung, Laura Kim, Phillip Lim, Tina Leung and Ezra William.

The Founder’s Award, in honor of Eleanor Lambert, will be given to Andrew Bolton, the curator of Wendy Yu in charge of the Costume Institute at the Metropolitan Museum of Art.

Chrome Hearts’ Laurie Lynn Stark and Richard Stark will receive the Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award.

The Media Award in honor of Eugenia Sheppard goes to Patti Wilson, fashion designer.

The Environmental Sustainability Award will be presented to the United Nations and accepted by Amina J. Mohammed, Deputy Secretary General of the United Nations.

This year, the CFDA will introduce a new Stylist Award. The inaugural recipient is Law Roach, who works with celebrities such as Zendaya, Lewis Hamilton, Hunter Shafer, Halsey, and Venus Williams, among others.

Law Cockroach

Courtesy of Easton Schirra.

To celebrate the CFDA’s 60th anniversary, the organization adds a Special Anniversary Award, which goes to longtime CFDA member Jeffrey Banks.

More award winners will be named in the coming weeks.

“The 2022 CFDA Fashion Awards will celebrate the best and brightest talents in American fashion, but also the milestone of the 60th anniversary of the CFDA,” said Steven Kolb, Chief Executive Officer of the CFDA. “This year’s nominees reflect the renewed excitement for American fashion generated by designers who are redefining the future of our industry. The CFDA would like to thank Amazon Fashion for its support for the awards. “

Muge Erdirik Dogan, President of Amazon Fashion, added, “The CFDA Fashion Awards are an opportunity to recognize and applaud designers who are using their creativity to transform and advance the industry. Amazon Fashion shares a joint mission with the CFDA to support the most important American designers, who have been influential in their efforts, from sustainability to innovation. Congratulations to all the nominees and honorees this year. ”

Nominations for each award category were submitted by the CFDA Fashion Awards Guild, which is made up of CFDA members, along with leading fashion retailers, journalists and stylists.

To celebrate the 60th anniversary of the CFDA, the awards will be jointly hosted by CFDA members Joseph Altuzarra, Gabriela Hearst, Aurora James, Lazaro Hernandez and Jack McCollugh.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.